Trusting the Internet: Should I really soak my feet in mouthwash?

IMG_1572

Well, I’m supposed to be cleaning the bathrooms right now, but honestly, I don’t feel like it, so, I decided that I’d check Facebook for a few minutes. Once I logged on, I was met by an image that has frequently popped up in my newsfeed lately. Perhaps this was a message from the universe! Perhaps I should be soaking my feet instead of soaking the toilets…

IMG_1561

This is the original image that keeps popping up in my newsfeed.

Before I go any further, let me state a few truths:

  • God did not grace me with skinny thighs or pretty feet, so getting a pedicure is a bit like putting lipstick on a pig. There is only so much I can do.
  • You can’t believe everything you see on the internet.
  • If you have all of the ingredients for a recipe, you have to make it.
  • Beauty treatments take precedent over cleaning your house.

Now, my curiosity was piqued, so I decided that I’d read the comments. That was only fuel to the fire. They were split 50/50. Some swore by the recipe, while others declared it false. Some questioned the measurements, while others claimed it turned their feet blue or green! After reading the back and forth, I appointed myself Internet Sleuth of the Day and went in search of all the necessities. I admit, I did make a few adjustments based on the comments that were posted, and here is what I found.

If you choose to continue reading, consider yourself warned. MY FEET ARE UGLY! I have included pictures as documentation, but I claim no responsibility for the negative effects of viewing this “footage” 😉

I declare this foot soak a total success! I even got better results than the last pedicure I paid for a few months ago! It’s simple to make, relatively cheap, and I had to sit for at least 15 minutes doing nothing! The result was flip flop worthy, soft, minty fresh feet that felt invigorated and relaxed. What more could a busy mom ask for? So, do yourself a favor and try it before you pay for another pedicure.

image (9)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of mouthwash (I used my husband’s Target brand generic Listerine. It was green)
  • 2 cups of white vinegar
  • 2 cups of warm water
  • A large basin
  • A pumice stone or rough washcloth

Directions:

  1. Mix ingredients into the basin. I used very warm water, and found it relaxing. I’m not sure how the lady in the original picture made hers look so gelatinous, but mine looked like light green water.IMG_1571
  2. Soak feet for at least 15 minutes. Try to hide from your husband or children so that they do not bug you. This is your 15 minutes of peace and quiet!!
  3. To be honest, after 15 minutes, my feet did appear blue, but then I realized that it was the dead skin that was blue. A soft scrub with the pumice stone revealed soft pink skin 🙂 I used the pumice stone to scrub my feet well, especially the really rough spots. I also noticed that it worked as an awesome cuticle remover!FullSizeRender
  4. Next, I washed my feet with soap and water. This is when I used the washcloth and really scrubbed my nails and toes.
  5. Then I dried them well and moisturized them with coconut oil.IMG_1570
  6. Finally, I noticed that my toenails were a bit green, but after a coat of nail polish, you would never know. If you are leaving your nails bare, I’d use a different color of mouthwash.

    IMG_1569

    Please know I am just a mom shamelessly offering her feet. I have come to terms with the fact that I will never be a foot model.

Leave a Reply

