Banana Gingerbread

IMG_0200

 

My poor husband is home sick with the flu. He is not one to get sick, so it took a nasty fever to keep him down. I feel bad for him. You can just tell he is miserable, but on the bright side, we are all off from school today, so I decided I would fix it the best way I know how, with food of course!

Now, I love gingerbread! For me, this is not just a Christmas treat; I whip up a gingerbread throughout the year. It is spicy (like me), full of flavor, and it tastes like a big warm hug. ***sigh***

So, I have spent the past two years perfecting my own personal gingerbread recipe, and I’ve finally got that sucker polished to perfection, but today I had bananas. Usually, I toss my ripe bananas in the freezer, to be used at a later date, but I just cleaned out my freezer and realized that I had a ridiculous stockpile of frozen bananas, so now I’m on a mission to use them right away.

This is how I got the great idea to add the gingerbread spice blend to my banana bread recipe, and the result was AWESOME! It even prompted the sick one to sit up from the couch and ask me what smelled so good. I consider this a win!

I sincerely hope you all stay healthy this winter, but just in case you need a pick me up, may I suggest this yummy treat.

Ingredients

  • 3 ripe bananas, peeled
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 1 cup of brown sugar
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons of ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon of ground cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon of ground nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon of ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour

Preparation

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F, and grease a bundt pan.
  2. In a mixing bowl, mash the ripe bananas. Add the melted butter to the mashed bananas.
  3. Mix in the baking soda and salt. Stir in the sugar, beaten egg, spices, and vanilla extract.
  4. Mix in the flour.
  5. Pour the batter into a greased Bundt pan.
  6. Bake for about an hour (check at 50 minutes) at 350°F or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean

IMG_0198

 

 

Leave a Reply

