How to Brew Coffee in a Power Outage: A Critical Survival Skill

4-photo 4

This morning we woke up to an icy wonderland, and while I snuggled back into the cozy covers, accepting the fact that summer vacation will be another day shorter, I realized that no power meant no coffee! AHHHHH!!! This mama needs coffee to survive another snow day at home with my kids!

Not to worry, as my husband laughed, knowing that he had to go to work, where coffee could be found, my MacGuyver brain kicked in. I could do this! I could figure out a way to make coffee on the stove without power!

1-photo 1

Here is what you need:

  • Gas stove
  • Lighter or matches
  • Standard coffee maker
  • Ground Coffee
  • Coffee Filter
  • Water

The Process:

  1. Fill the glass pot from your coffee maker with the desired amount of water.
  2. Pour the water into a pot for the stovetop.
  3. Use a lighter to manually light a burner of your gas stove. (Be cautious and follow the instructions in the ownerโ€™s manual)
  4. Boil the water.
  5. Meanwhile, set up your standard coffee maker with a clean filter & fresh coffee grounds.
  6. Once the water is boiling, use a ladle or measuring cup to carefully pour the water into the filter basket over the coffee.
  7. Pour slowly, allowing the coffee to trickle into the glass pot below.
  8. Sit back, snuggle in a blanket, and sip your caffeine goodness!

*** If the coffee gets cold, put it back in the metal pan & re-heat it on the stove.
***you can also boil water with a crockpot, fondue pot, chafing dish, or on your grill outside.

3-photo 3

** Note that after I went to all of this trouble “surviving”, my husband walked in from the garage, where he started the generator, plugged in the Keurig, and brewed his own cup, but I don’t care. I won. In a primal, pioneer, survivalist way, my coffee tasted WAY better!

2-photo 2

Now, I will plug inย the wifi, charge my phone, and pray for spring and flip flops!

Leave a Reply

