Zucchini Brownies– How to Win at Motherhood & Middle School

20130907-160627.jpg

Let me share with you a conversation that I had with my oldest daughter this weekend (age 11)

Olivia: What’s for dinner?

Me: short ribs, red potatoes, & roasted zucchini with cherry tomatoes.

Olivia: UGH! Why do you insist on always being so healthy?? 

Me: **silence**

**Note- I let her have chicken fingers, fries, & a Sprite for dinner last night!!

Am I really that bad?? No!

Enter Amelia, my middle daughter (age 8), who could happily live on vegetables,  asking if we could make those yummy brownies that I made a few weeks ago.

Ummm…Yes. Yes we can!

Sometimes, the universe aligns itself in such a way that you look like a rock star mom. This was one of those moments.

Amelia and I made those brownies, and I served them to the anti-healthy pre-teen drama llama that lives upstairs. After “suffering” through my apparently too-healthy dinner, she was thrilled to see my chocolaty offering. She savored the brownies appreciating my momentary departure from all that is healthy.

I win!

I win, I win, I win!!!!

Rarely will you ever outsmart a middle schooler, but I succeeded, and I will savor this moment as I will savor another one of these brownies!

Zucchini Brownies
Prep Time: 10 minutes Cook Time: 25 minutes Total Time: 35 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of whole grain pastry flour (or unbleached white flour)
  • 1 1/2 cups of coconut palm sugar (or regular granulated sugar)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 cup cocoa
  • 2 cups shredded zucchini
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1/2 cup of coconut oil
  • 2 large eggs

Instructions:
Pre-heat oven to 375° and spray a jelly roll pan with non-stick cooking spray.
In a medium bowl sift together the flour, sugar, salt, baking soda, and cocoa.  Set aside.
In a small bowl whisk together the oil, vanilla, and eggs. Add the zucchini and stir to coat.  Add to the mixture to the medium bowl with the dry ingredients. Stir until combined.
Pour into the baking dish and bake for 25 minutes or until the center is cooked. Allow to cool and sprinkle with powdered sugar if desired.

Frosting: (optional)
1 1/2 cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips 1/4 cup of half & half
1 Tbsp. of coconut oil
Pour over hot brownies and spread an even, thin layer.

Leave a comment