Ridiculously Good Radishes

1-radish 1

I started gardening two years ago, and it has been a really fun family experience ever since. We started growing the basics like tomatoes, zucchini, peppers and cucumbers. Last year we branched out with green beans, lettuce, snow peas, and garlic. So, when I was selecting seeds and planning for this year’s garden, I wanted to expand even farther. While shopping, a pack of radish seeds caught my eye, so I grabbed them and figured, why not?

2-radish 2

Well, I had no idea how fun radishes could be. They were the first little shoots to appear in the garden, and we were so excited to see those peeks of green as a welcome sign of the season to come. I was so surprised to see how quickly those tiny shoots turned into big leafy greens! At that point, being the radish novice that I am, I turned to the internet to find out just when to pick them. I also learned, through my farmer’s market escapades, that the leaves can be eaten, too. In fact, the leaves pack more nutritional punch than the radishes themselves. And, boy are they tasty! I will never discard them again.

4-radish 4

You can imagine our excitement today when we picked our first crop, and they were great. I started simple, with what I knew. I washed the roots and the leaves well, then cut the leaves off and tossed them with some fresh spinach. Then I sliced the radishes and tossed them in as well. Finally, I drizzled the salad with a simple, Italian vinaigrette. It was a great, fresh side salad to compliment tonight’s dinner.

5-radish 5

Radishes will now become a staple in my garden. Let me know in the comments below if you have any creative uses for radishes or the tasty greens.

2 thoughts on “Ridiculously Good Radishes

  1. Kelly, leave the greens on, cut vertically, and serve as a beautiful crudite with dip. If greens are large, just present with one or two stems. They are great particularly when they are young and fresh. They pair beautifully with tiny fresh ( not from the bag) carrots.

Leave a Reply

