Crockpot Jambalaya

20121209-173932.jpg

A cold rainy day
Will dampen the mood
To get off the couch
And cook some good food.
No reason to fret,
No reason to whine.
Crockpot Jambalaya
Is a meal that’s divine!

Today was a yucky rainy Sunday. The only thing I had to do was run out to the pharmacy. I didn’t want to shop, I would not clean, I just wanted to veg. Cold and rainy weather is not my friend.
.
Days like today, I just want warm…a warm blanket, a warm cozy spot on the couch, and a warm tasty meal. The problem is that once I settle into that warm cozy spot on the couch, under my warm fleecy blanket, with my warm snugly doggie at my feet, I don’t want to get up. Crockpot jambalaya is a prefect recipe for this kind of day.

This recipe is perfect for the lazy cooking days. No lengthy prep, no constant stirring, no elaborate finishing process. Just cut, dump, wait, and then eat. In fact, this dish is so efficient in promoting relaxation, I grant you permission to deviate from the traditional dinner table and eat it in the family room while watching a movie as a family.

Tonight, my kids will settle in on the floor, spread a large blanket beneath them, and enjoy dinner, “picnic style”. It is a fun treat, and I use the format to bribe (or threaten) them into eating it all gone (ex. “If you do not eat all of you dinner, we will not be able to have picnic dinners again!”…I know, they will need therapy…blah, blah, blah.) My husband and I will claim the couch, and a movie will be chosen. Peace, family, warmth, and a great meal are the necessary ingredients to make this a fantastic Sunday.

So, whether you are an experienced cook, who just wants to take a night off, or a novice kitchen mom, who is looking for a low-risk start, this is the recipe for you. Not only will your family love it, but you will feel relaxed and fulfilled by your new cooking from the couch skills. Enjoy!

Crockpot Jambalaya

Ingredients:

1 pound of skinless, boneless chicken breasts, cut into 1 inch cubes
1 pound of andouille sausage, sliced
1 pound of peeled, deveined shrimp without tails
6 cups of chicken broth
3 cups so white rice
1 (28 ounce) can of crushed tomatoes
1 large onion, chopped
1 green bell pepper, chopped
2 red bell peppers, chopped
1 cup of chopped celery (about 3 stalks)
4 cloves of garlic, minced
2 Tbsp. of fresh oregano
2 Tbsp. of fresh parsley
2 Tbsp. of Cajun seasoning
1 Tbsp. of fresh thyme
1 tsp. of cayenne pepper

Preparation:

Combine all ingredients in your slow cooker. Cook on low for 7-8 hours, or on high for 3-4 hours. Stir occasionally.

Garnish with a slice of warm cornbread.

Leave a Reply

