Finding Peace in Waffles

I’ve been yelling ALOT lately. My kids are out of sorts, and some days I feel like I am raising a pack of wild raccoon  They scurry around the house, eating everything, and making large messes.

By Phil Coale, AP

By Phil Coale, AP

When I attempt to correct them, they run off snickering. UGH!! Then the extreme mom frustration sets in. At this point, I usually start with my litany of punishments and rants…threatening to bring out “the big black trash bag”, “time-out”, “no friends today”, “Ollie is watching” (our elf), “Santa’s coming”, “Don’t make me call Daddy!” (the little buggers have learned that Daddy is much nicer than mommy, so this one needs to be retired…)

Usually on a day like this, I grudgingly clean it up, then get distracted with another chore, and sometime around 2:00 in the afternoon, I find my cold coffee next to my soggy breakfast. No wonder I was STARVING and miserable!

Well, I decided to STOP. BACK OFF. RELAX. I came to the realization that I am not Donna Reed. I work full-time. I have a blog. It is Christmas, and I am married to a UPS driver (pretty much out of commission until after the holidays). I stood on the knowledge that I am generally a clean person, my friends and family know this. My children are good kids, who usually listen. This circus is temporary!

Coffee?? Where was my coffee? and my waffle? I made a healthy breakfast for myself, but have yet to eat it. I WILL HAVE MY WAFFLE!

Food fairy 12-2-12 041

I grabbed my warm coffee, and my crisp waffle, at 9:00 in the morning, and I settled into my cozy nook in the kitchen. Isn’t that why I bought myself leather chairs with ottomans? I enjoyed my breakfast, smiled at my children, and found my missing inner peace.

Food fairy 12-2-12 039--fix

So, here is the recipe for my “Peace Waffles”. Try them. Put your feet up. Let your kids make a mess. Be a happy mom.

I’m glad I did.

12-1-12 012

The Steps to Inner Peace Through Waffles…

1. Start with a multi-grain waffle (I like Van’s)

12-1-12 004

2. Toast it in the toaster.

3. Spread a layer of peanut butter on top. (any nut butter would work)

12-1-12 005

4. Top with a sliced banana.

12-1-12 007

5. Sprinkle with pecan halves.

12-1-12 009

6. Serve with coffee, or tea.

Food fairy 12-2-12 041

7. Eat it in peace!

Food fairy 12-2-12 042

Peace Waffles

Ingredients:

  • 1 multi-grain waffle
  • 1 small banana
  • 2-3 Tbsp. of pecan halves

Preparation:

1. Start with a multi-grain waffle (I like Van’s)

2. Toast it in the toaster.

3. Spread a layer of peanut butter on top. (any nut butter would work)

4. Top with a sliced banana.

5. Sprinkle with pecan halves.

6. Serve with coffee, or tea.

7. Eat it in peace!

12-1-12 014

One thought on “Finding Peace in Waffles

Leave a Reply

