Monday Morning Glory Oatmeal Casserole

The worst realization on a Sunday night is that you are not a stay-at-home mom, and that in a few short hours, you will be squeezing your very tired tootsies into unforgiving heels and stiff clothes. Pair that with the sound of the alarm clock and people who do not know how to merge onto the busy bypass, and you have the reasons why I long for retirement…

On a sleepy Monday morning, the next best thing to my principal calling to tell me that it would be completely appropriate to wear yoga pants and flip flops to work, is something yummy and warm to eat for breakfast. Enter my Monday Morning Glory Oatmeal Casserole.

I do not have one extra second in the morning. I have my routine down to a pretty smooth system, except for the 3-4 days a week that I cannot find my keys, so I need breakfast that is super quick. What I believe is the best thing about this recipe is that you make it Sunday night, and go to bed in the yummiest smelling house on the planet. Then, pack it in individual servings so that you can just pop it into the microwave before work and feed your body something much better than a meal bar and a cup of coffee.

The recipe is posted below. Please try it; be creative. If you do not like the ingredients that I used, switch them out for what you do like. Your body and mind will be happy that you did πŸ™‚

Ingredients:

1 cup of steel cut oats
2 Tbsp. flax seeds
3 1/2 cups of milk (any variety, but I prefer coconut or almond milk)
1 tsp. of vanilla extract
1/2 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice
1/3 cup of chopped pecans
1/4 cup of pumpkin seeds
1/3 cup of dried cherries
**you can change up the added nuts and berries to your liking

Preparation:

1. Grease an 8×8 baking dish
2. In a mixing bowl, combine all ingredients.
3. Pour into the baking dish and bake for 45 minutes at 350 degrees

** serve immediately or refrigerate for later.
*** when reheating, place in a microwave safe bowl, drizzle with milk or half and half, sprinkle with pumpkin pie spice and re-heat for 30 seconds. Enjoy with a nice warm cup of coffee or tea.

20120930-225736.jpg

Leave a Reply

