Standard

Guerilla Gardening and Green Bean Stalking

I absolutely love my house and my neighborhood, but I really wish my yard was bigger. When my husband and I moved here from a more urban setting a few years ago, I thought this yard had plenty of space, but now I have developed a passion for gardening. It started with the existing flower beds which showered me with endless summer flowers and a beautiful backdrop for reading and relaxation. It has now morphed into a vegetable passion, bordering on obsession.

Last Mother’s Day, my husband and children bought me a raised garden, and I put a few standard plants in.

20120628-165318.jpg

Wow! I never expected to feel so much excitement. That is where the stalking behavior started. I checked my tomatoes, zucchini, and cucumbers multiple times daily and cheered when new sprouts appeared. My garden was the highlight of my summer (With the exception of the great pickle experiment which yielded some of the most horrifically tasting pickles ever created.)

Now I am no longer a rookie gardener, and I am stepping up my game. My existing garden was quickly filled with Roma tomatoes, basil, zucchini, and peppers, but there was no room for my cucumbers… I asked my husband for another raised bed, but he balked. So out of desperation, I have resorted to “guerilla gardening”. Now my cucumbers are secretly nestled between my crepe myrtles, my gourds and pumpkins are hidden in my flower beds, and I built a teepee for my green beans.

20120628-172502.jpg

20120628-172516.jpg

20120628-172534.jpg

Now I stalk my green beans and marvel at the lettuce as I lounge on the patio. Let this be a lesson to those of you who don’t think you have the space. A little creativity, and a patient husband can make a gardener out of any of us.

20120628-172851.jpg

20120628-172859.jpg

20120628-172906.jpg

20120628-172926.jpg

One thought on “Guerilla Gardening and Green Bean Stalking

  1. Pingback: My Heirloom Garden | The Fabulous Food Fairy™

Leave a Reply

