Positively Perfect Pasta Sauce

Positively Perfect Pasta Sauce

Italian I’m not
But the garden, I love
Here is a recipe that stands all above
So roll up your sleeves
And get a big pot
For a perfect red sauce
That is savory and HOT!!!

Ingredients:
• 15-20 Red Roma Tomatoes (enough to cover the bottom of a large roasting pan)
• Large pot of boiling water
• Large pot of ice water
• 3-4 Tbsp. olive oil
• 1 head of garlic, peeled
1 medium onion chopped
• 10-15 fresh basil leaves chopped
• 2-3 pinches of fresh oregano chopped
2 bay leaves (remove before serving)
• 1-2 Tbsp. of sugar
• Salt & pepper to taste
Preparation:
1. Wash tomatoes, remove the core, and slice a shallow “X” on the bottom of each tomato.
2. Drop tomatoes into boiling water until the skin splits. (about 2 min)
3. Remove with tongs and drop in ice bath.
4. Pull tomatoes out of the ice bath and slip the skin off. Discard skin and place tomato into the roasting pan.
5. Once the tomatoes are skinned, add olive oil, onion, and garlic to the pan and mix.
6. Place in the oven at 425 degrees and roast for about 30 minutes. Tomatoes will start to break down and get browned on the bottom. Garlic should also be soft and browned.
7. Add basil, bay leaves, oregano, salt, pepper, and sugar. Roast for 10-15 more minutes.
8. Remove from the oven and puree with a hand blender.
9. Serve over pasta or with fresh garlic bread.
Alternatives:
• This recipe can be made with whole cherry or grape tomatoes (skip the blanching process–just wash and skip to step 5)
• You can also add cheese, such a parmesan or Romano, or meat to individualize the flavor.

20120618-151523.jpg

20120618-151539.jpg

20120618-151604.jpg

20120618-151624.jpg

20120618-151649.jpg

20120618-151706.jpg

10 thoughts on “Positively Perfect Pasta Sauce

  1. Hi there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I came to give it a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Outstanding blog and wonderful style and design. 306338

  2. Pingback: Magnificent Meatballs « The Fabulous Food Fairy

  3. Pingback: My Crazy is Showing, but I’ll Tuck it in Later | The Fabulous Food Fairy™

  4. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an really long
    comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up.
    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that ovdr again. Anyhow,
    just wanted to say wonderful blog!

  5. I made this today using an abundance of roma tomatoes from my garden. This recipe is easy and delicious. Thank you!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

